Facebook will alret users when photos of them are uploaded

​Facebook can now alert its users when a photo that includes them is uploaded to deter. Facebook says that it's using facial recognition technology to make this new feature possible.

Tech companies are putting in place a variety of functions using facial recognition technology, despite fears about how the facial data could be used. In September, Apple Inc revealed that users of its new iPhone X would be able to unlock the device using their face.

Facial recognition technology has been a part of Facebook since at least 2010, when the social network began offering suggestions for whom to tag in a photo. That feature also is optional.

Under the new feature, people who have opted in would get a notification from Facebook if a photo of them has been uploaded, although only if the photo is one they have access to.

The company plans to add an "on/off" switch to allow users to control all Facebook features related to facial recognition.

Once users are alerted that a photo of them has been uploaded to Facebook, they will have some control over it. For example, a user may be able to either tag themselves in the photo or simply ignore it and leave it untagged. An alert will also inform the user who uploaded the photo to Facebook. This makes it easier and faster for users to reach out to their friends to ask them to take it down or express their other concerns about the image.



Rate this blog entry:
بیت المقدس پر ٹرمپ کے فیصلے کے خلاف قرارداد بھاری...
Peshawar’s female student developed an amazing dev...

Related Posts

 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Guest
Wednesday, 17 January 2018

Captcha Image

Latest Videos

View all videos